Hello, 2012

by Hazel Pino

It blows my mind to think it’s already 2012! That ten years ago it was 2002. The best and worst year of my high school life. I can’t believe ten years has passed. It’s just insane to think about.

I accomplished a lot in 2011. I traveled the world — at Epcot, Pinocchio blew me kisses and made all the kids jealous, I lived at Disney World (literally), I made magic as a Cast Member for guests every single day, my paychecks were signed by Mickey Mouse, I spent hours slicing those caramel apples that I grew up to love for other people who also grew up loving them. I made friends from all over the entire world and we’re not so different. I accomplished more in 2011 than I ever dreamed I could and I had the time of my life.

So when I look ahead to 2012, I can’t imagine what’s left to accomplish. And it’s sort of like the conversation Flynn and Rapunzel had in Tangled:

Rapunzel: But what if it’s everything I’ve ever dreamed of? What then?
Flynn: Then you find a new dream.

I’m stuck, because I can’t seem to find a new dream. I know there are things I want to work on and improve, things I want to learn and things I want back but there’s no big huge goal left in sight for me. And I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. But I do know I am excited for all the things that 2012 will bring, bad or good.

I hope 2012 will be good to all of you as well (:

