Social media sites making us attention hungry?

by Hazel Pino

I think as people we are all naturally hungry for attention (more so us who were neglected or ignored as children) and no matter how much I deny it, Facebook has opened my eyes. I, Marie, am attention hungry.

I admit, I get upset when I post a status on my Facebook and get less than five likes and less than five comments. I suddenly start to feel neglected and ignored. But as soon as I post something shallow or witty or a movie trailer/music video or anything else just equally mindless, the “likes” and comments start rolling in.

So maybe it’s not just me that people are ignoring, maybe it’s the fact that Facebook has shuffled peoples priorities. Maybe we get on Facebook as a way to unwind, to do something mindless, or to stalk people (whatever floats your boat). And the idea of clicking on a link or a video that could possibly make us think is what we avoid.

It’s a shame, you would think that since now that we have the internet and broadband connections and 4gigs or RAM and all sorts of other fancy crap that news would travel faster. But that just sometimes isn’t the case. If people are looking for news, they will find it. If they are avoiding news well, they won’t find it. But it’s a shame to think that we don’t care much for what our “friends” are thinking, feeling or trying to tell us. We only care about the fact that someone got smashed, who hooked up with who and what’s the hottest track out right now.

And so it brings me back to my point, no one actually cares about what I’m feeling or thinking. That would probably require them to think.

And I also can’t help but sit at the sidelines and look at all the people who do have friends on their friends lists that do care when they’re down or in pain and try to console them.

Maybe I just have shitty friends?

Either way, if there’s one thing I have taken away from Facebook, it’s that I am indeed attention hungry.

