This week has been a blur…

by Hazel Pino

Don’t you hate when weeks just zoom by you and you’re left thinking “it’s almost Friday… already?!” I’m probably one of the rare people that actually hates the weekends. I’m use to working weekends and so never really being off on the weekends, I forget how busy everywhere is. Olive Garden on a Sunday? Terrible idea. Mall on the weekend? Another terrible idea. So my husband and I like going out on the weekdays and now that we’re back from our internship, we usually lock ourselves at home on the weekends and refuse to go out.

It’s been raining off and on all week and I’ve been enjoying it. Mostly because it’s also been really, really cold and oh how I’ve missed the cold! Living in Orlando, FL for seven months you hardly get any cold (but lots of rain) so believe me when I say I’m embracing it right now.

I got to meet one of my favorite authors this week, Stephanie Perkins who wrote Anna and the French Kiss (one of my absolute favorite reads of 2010) and just released Lola and the Boy Next Door. I’ve been trying to get through my October challenge reads list. Had a meeting with school about re-enrolling. And in sadder news… went to say good night to my dwarf hamster Boq last night and found him lifeless. I was just talking to him the other night too… he would had turned two early next month.

I’m lucky to have supportive people in my life when things like this happen. My mom, who got him for me (more on that later) was bummed when I texted her last night. My husband who rushed downstairs as soon as I told him gave me a huge big hug and cuddled me all last night (between working on his art project) and my favorite CJ went off say “I feel like hamsters aren’t the best choice of pet for you 😦 They don’t live very long and then you get sad. I’m gonna research this and find you an amazing pet.” I heart that guy a million times.

I’m in the process of setting up blog posts for my many blogs I’ve neglected all week and setting up blog posts for next week on my book blog. I don’t remember maintaining blogs to take so much work before I moved… hm.

